Abayomi, Omotosho named as Sanwo-Olu sends new list of commissioner-nominees to Lagos assembly

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu has sent a second list of commissioner-nominees to the state Lagos state House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The house announced the receipt of the list of nominees during the plenary on Monday, September 4.

Former state commissioner for health, Prof. Akin Abayomi, Gbenga Omotosho, and others made the new list.

Earlier, the Assembly had rejected the reappointment of six former commissioners nominated by Sanwo-Olu for screening.

The former commissioners include Gbenga Omotoso (Information and strategy), Akin Abayomi (Health), and Sam Egube (Economic planning and budget).

Others are Cecilia Dada (Women affairs and poverty alleviation), Olalere Odusote (Energy resources) Folashade Adefisayo (Education).

The commissioners are among the 17 rejected nominees, a statement by the House’s information officer, Bisola Branco-Adekoya, revealed.

Meanwhile, the speaker of the Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa, had insisted that lawmakers were not “fighting” Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

His comments came about a week after the Lagos State House of Assembly rejected 17 of the 39 commissioner-nominees sent by Sanwo-Olu for screening.

Obasa, who presided over the plenary session on Monday, said no matter the threat by some persons, the Assembly will not reveal what it discovered during the screening of the rejected commissioner-nominees.

He also insisted he was trying to protect his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button