APC wins all 17 local govt, 178 councilorship seats in Yobe

The Yobe State Independent Electoral Commission says the All Progressives Congress (APC) won all the 17 chairmanship seats and 178 councillors positions in the local government elections.

Announcing the winners after collation of all results, the chairman of the commission, Dr. Mamman Mohammed, explained that other political parties participated but could not win at any level.

The state electoral umpire is expected to present certificates of return to the winners while their swearing-in by the Governor Mai Mala Buni would be at a later date.

Governor Buni had while voting at his home town said his concept when he came onboard in 2019 as governor was to give local government areas autonomy.

The governor noted that he is not opposing the federal government’s plan to grant autonomy for local government areas.

“I am not opposed to local government autonomy. When I came onboard in 2019, my concept was to give autonomy to the local government.

“Unfortunately, about 6 out of the 17 local government areas can’t even pay their salaries, so the wisdom behind this joint account complimenting the efforts of the local governments with the state,” he said.

The election was conducted under a peaceful atmosphere unlike in the past when voters go to exercise their civic rights amidst threats of the Boko Haram insurgency.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button