BREAKING: 18 APC LGA chairmen reject Ize-Iyamu as Candidate, attack Oshiomhole

18 local government chairmen in Edo state have rejected Osagie Ize-Iyamu as the consensus candidate of the party in the upcoming gubernatorial elections, POLITICS NIGERIA has learned.

In a statement on Friday, the local government chairmen described reports that Pastor Ize-Iyamu was the consensus candidate of the party as ‘False’ adding that he was not a member of the party.

“The purported agreement to return Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu as a consensus candidate of APC in Edo State is totally false and without foundation. Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu is not a member of our Party. He led his followers out of the APC in 2014 and even contested the governorship election on the platform of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in 2016 election, which he lost.”

“The purported waiver granted to him by the National Working Committee of the Party is ultra vires, null and void, as Article 31 of the Party Constitution confers that power on the National Executive Committee of the Party. Besides, the conditions for waiver prescribed by the Party Constitution have not been met.”

They also called on the President Muhammadu Buhari to call the national chairman of the party and Ex-Edo governor, Adams Oshiomole to order. They accused Oshiomole of creating ‘parallel organs’ of the party which is in direct violation of its constitution.

“The party has a constitution and the constitution makes provision on how things are done, including registration of new members.”

“We call on President Muhammadu Buhari to call Comrade Adams Oshiomhole to order because Article 21 of the constitution of our party tells us that factionalisation or creating parallel organs at any level within the party as Comrade Oshiomhole has done in Edo State is an offence against the party.” the statement read in part.

However, they endorsed the current governor, Godwin Obaseki, for second term adding that he will be the party’s candidate.

Below is a list of the 18 Local government chairmen;

1. Hon. Henry Ashofor
Akoko – Edo

2. Comrade Odion Olaye

3. Mr Mike Anakaso
Esan Central

4. Hon. Ogbejiele Idogei
Esan North East

5. Hon. Monday Osoh
Esan South East

6. Mr. Ehikioya Onaburerkhalen
Esan West

7. Hon. Zakari Z. Ozizi
Etsako Central

8. Sir Sunday Adogah
Etsako East

9. Mrs. Ezolome Rabiat
Etsako West

10. Hon. Sylvester Odia

11. Kelvin O. Egharevba

12. Hon. Godwill Alabi

13. Benjamin Oghumu

14. Hon. Etinosa Ighodaro
Ovia North East

15. Mr. Peter Ajayi
Ovia South West

16. Zuberu Kasim
Owan East

17. John Ojeikhoa
Owan West

18. Mr. Justin Omoruyi

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
You cannot copy content of this page