BREAKING: CJN to swear in 85 judges for Ondo, Edo Elections Tribunal


Nigeria’s number one Judge, Justice Tanko Muhammad, will inaugurate 85 judges to serve on the election petition tribunal panels set up for the forthcoming Edo and Ondo governorship elections.

In a statement on Wednesday by the Spokesman of the Court of Appeal, Sa’adatu Kachalla, the swearing-in ceremony will take place on Thursday (tomorrow) by 2pm at the ceremonial hall of the Supreme Court in Abuja.

Kachalla also noted that the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) will also inaugurate judges for other legislative elections in different parts of the country.

He said that the Court of Appeal President, Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem, will thereafter organise one-day Training for the 85 judges.

The statement read, “The CJN will on Thursday, 10th September, 2020 swear in 85 judges to adjudicate on Election Petition Tribunals in the upcoming governorship Elections slated for the September 19 in Edo, October 10, in Ondo states and the by-elections scheduled by the INEC.

“Time: 2 pm; Venue: main Court Hall Supreme Court; The PCA, hon. Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem, will thereafter organise one-day Training on EPT Matters for the 85 judges.”

POLITICS NIGERIA reports that the Edo State governorship will take place on September 19, 2020, while that of Ondo State will hold on October 10, 2020.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button