BREAKING: Court sacks 20 lawmakers for defecting to APC

The Federal High Court Abuja, on Monday, sacked 20 members of the Cross River State House of Assembly who defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), to the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) some time ago.

POLITICS NIGERIA reports that in the judgment given by Justice Taiwo Taiwo, having defected to the APC, the lawmakers not only jettisoned the PDP, but also the votes that belonged to it.

The suit marked FHC/ABJ/CS/975/2021 was filed by the PDP.

It held that going by the outcome of the election that brought them in, their seats belong to the plaintiff and no other political party.

It would be recalled that similar verdict was given by the Federal High Court when it sacked Governor Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State, his deputy, Eric Kelechi Igwe, and 16 lawmakers, earlier this month.

Justice Inyang Ekwo held that the PDP was bound to retain the votes and mandate given to it by the electorate in Ebonyi State, as both Governor Umahi and his deputy could not validly transfer same to APC.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button