BREAKING: Godswill Akpabio Defeats Yari to Emerge Senate President

Former Minister of Niger Delta and ex-governor of Akwa Ibom State, Godswill Akpabio, has emerged victorious over Abdul’aziz Abubakar Yari, the former governor of Zamfara State, in the race for the Senate President position in the 10th Assembly.

Senator Godswill Akpabio had 63 Votes while Senator Abdul Aziz Yari got 46 Votes.

The nomination of Akpabio for Senate President was put forward by Senator Ali Ndume, who presented a detailed biography of the former governor from Akwa Ibom.

On the other hand, Senator Ishaku Abbo nominated Senator Abdul Aziz Yari for the prestigious role.

It is worth noting that the All Progressives Congress (APC) had designated the South-South region as the rightful holder of the Senate President position in the 10th Assembly, with Senator Godswill Akpabio being their preferred candidate. Additionally, Senator Jubrin Barau from the North West was selected as the favoured candidate for the deputy Senate President position.

However, this designation faced resistance from several lawmakers, with Abdul’aziz Abubakar Yari being one of the prominent figures opposing the decision.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button