INEC announces polling units for Sokoto rerun election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has revealed the areas where the supplementary elections will take place in Sokoto state on Saturday.

POLITICS NIGERIA reports that according to a recent statement signed by Dr. Shamsuddeen Haliru Sidi, the Public Affairs Officer of the Commission, the supplementary election will occur in 10 out of the 11 Federal constituencies and three Senatorial zones.

“For the federal constituencies, the election would take place in 468 polling units across 133 registration areas with the total number of registered voters stood at 276,684.

“However, the supplementary election for the Senate would take place in 522 polling units cutting across 155 registration areas.”

The commission has also upheld the victory of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP)’s candidate, Umar Yusuf Yabo, for the Yabo-Shagari federal constituency.

Yabo, 37, won against the incumbent member and All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Abubakar Umar, with 24,792 votes, while Umar secured 22,497 votes.

This newspaper understands that INEC has already distributed sensitive materials in preparation for the supplementary election.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button