JUST IN: Five Commissioners Resigns From Governor Fubara’s Cabinet in 24 Hours

Five commissioners have abandoned Governor Siminalayi Fubara’s cabinet in the past 24 hours.

The latest exits follow Monday’s defection of 27 lawmakers from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the demolition of the state’s legislative chamber on Wednesday.

The assembly complex was demolished by the state government, citing structural defects.

Recently, the Commissioner for Social Welfare, Inime Chinwenwo-Aguma, and Works Commissioner George-Kelly Alabo have resigned, offering explanations of “personal and other commitments” and “conscience“, respectively. Additionally, the state Finance Commissioner, Isaac Kamalu, has tendered his resignation. Kamalu, however, did not state why he pulled out of the cabinet

These resignations follow that of the Attorney General, Zacchaeus Adangor and Commissioner of Special Duties, Emeka Woke.

The flurry of resignations can be traced to the ongoing political feud between Governor Fubara and his predecessor, Nyesome Wike, now the Federal Capital Territory Minister.

Recall that following the defection of the 27 lawmakers from the ruling party in the state, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), lawmakers loyal to the state governor declared their seats vacant while calling on the Independent National Electoral Commission to conduct fresh elections to replace them.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button