LP Dominates Abia State House of Assembly: Outsmarts PDP, Secures All Principal Offices

The Labour Party (LP) has once again outmaneuvered the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) as new principal officers take charge in the Abia State House of Assembly.

POLITICS NIGERIA reports that during Friday’s sitting, Speaker Emmanuel Emeruwa announced the names of the newly elected principal officers.

Uchenna Okoro, representing Arochukwu constituency, was named the Majority Leader, solidifying LP’s control.

This was made possible when Iheanacho Nwaogu of Osisioma Ngwa North, Ahuama Fyne of Osisioma Ngwa South, both from the Young Progressives Party (YPP) and Akaliro Anderson of the All Progressives Congress (APC), aligned with the ten members of the Labour Party, forming a majority in the house.

Eventually, Destiny Nwagwu from Aba North State constituency was appointed as the Deputy Majority Leader, Emeka Obioma from Umuahia South assumed the position of Chief Whip, and Iheanacho Nwaogu from Osisioma Ngwa North constituency was appointed Deputy Chief Whip.

No announcement was made for the position of Minority Leader, leaving doubts about the PDP’s relevance in the House, despite having ten elected members.

Furthermore, the speaker read a letter from the Executive Governor, outlining the list of nineteen commissioner nominees for screening and approval. To facilitate this process, an adhoc committee led by Chinasa Anthony, representing Umuahia Central, was established.

While the PDP remains the major opposition party in the state with eleven members, including senior figures, they were unable to strike a deal with the three members from the APC and YPP.

The situation now leaves PDP in a challenging position as the opposition party in the state.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button