Oscars 2024: Stephanie Linus appointed selection committee’s boss

The Nigerian Official Selection Committee (NOSC) for the Best International Feature Film (IFF) category of the Oscars has announced renowned actress and filmmaker Stephanie Linus as its new chairperson.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) had approved forming a 14-member NOSC team after its founder and previous Chairperson, Chineze Anyaene-Abonyi, stepped down.

Members of the NOSC also include:

  • The Nigerian Film Corporation (NFC) Managing Director, Dr. Chidia Maduekwe.
  • The President of the Directors’ Guild of Nigeria (DGN), Dr. Victor Okhai.
  • Veteran actress Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde.
  • Former President of DGN, Mr. Andy Amenechi.
  • Theatre practitioner Yibo Koko and writer/director Izu Ojukwu.

Others include cinematographer Adetokunbo ‘DJ Tee’ Odubawo; prolific film producer Emem Isong; director Dimeji Ajibola; writer/director Jude Idada, Ngozi Okafor, director John Njamah and actress/polyglot Meg Otanwa.

As the 96th Academy Awards approaches in the upcoming year, the newly formed NOSC team will collect, screen, and vote on entries to represent Nigeria in the IFF category.

The committee said these new members bring people with diverse creative portfolios into the dynamics of selecting the best film from Nigeria.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button