PDP Crisis: 16 NWC members to refund N450m housing allowance largesse


The crisis in the National Working Committee (NWC) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) took a fresh twist on Friday, as 16 members who had yet to refund the controversial Housing Allowance to the party were reportedly pressured to do so.

POLITICS NIGERIA reports that about four members of the PDP NWC returned a total of N122.4 million paid to their accounts by the party’s leadership as house rent.

Fresh information has now claimed that there is mounting pressure on 16 other members who had yet to refund the money to follow the footsteps of Taofeek Arapaja, Olasoji Adagunodo, and others.

A credible source in the party said: “there is a tendency for most of them to return the money.

“Some are waiting for the national chairman to return before making a decision.”

All the NWC members who returned the money are from the southern part of the country and loyalists of the Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike, which had withdrawn from the party’s presidential campaign council following the refusal of the national chairman, Iyorchia Ayu, to resign. Ayu had travelled abroad but returned to the country on Friday.

Wike had accused Ayu of inducing NWC members with huge sums of money in a bid to conceal his alleged financial recklessness.

The PDP NWC members include the Deputy National Chairman (North), Umar Damagun; National Secretary, Samuel Anyanwu; Deputy National Secretary, Setoji Kosheodo; National Treasurer, Ahmed Mohammed; and the Deputy National Treasurer, Ndubisi David.

Others are the National Organising Secretary, Umar Bature; Deputy National Organising Secretary, Ighoyota Amori; National Financial Secretary, Daniel Woyegikuro; Deputy National Financial Secretary, Adamu Kamale; National Publicity Secretary, Debo Ologunagba; and Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Ibrahim Abdullahi.

There is also the Deputy National Women’s Leader, Hajara Wanka; National Youth Leader, Muhammed Suleiman; Deputy National Youth Leader, Timothy Osadolor; National Legal Adviser, Kamaldeen Ajibade; Deputy National Legal Adviser, Okechukwu Osuoha; National Auditor, Okechuckwu Daniel; and Deputy National Auditor, Abdulrahman Mohammed.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button