Senate Presidency: PDP Senators-elect Reject Akpabio

Senator Godswill Akpabio’s bid for the Senate Presidency in the 10th National Assembly has hit a roadblock as the major opposition caucus in the Senate has rejected his candidacy.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) announced the zoning arrangement for the leadership of the 10th Assembly, with Senator Jibril Barau from Kano State as Deputy Senate President and Hon. Tajudeen Abbas from Kaduna State and Hon. Benjamin Kalu from Abia State as Speaker and Deputy Speaker, respectively.

Additionally, Akpabio is not favored by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) caucus in the National Assembly, as he abandoned the PDP midstream and joined the APC for personal gain.

He is said to have the support of only three of the 36 PDP Senators-elect.

Furthermore, his behavior during a Senate hearing on Niger Delta Affairs Ministry in 2021 and his connection to the travails of two South-South Senators have caused concern among legislators.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button