Tinubu to Honour 11 Citizens with Citizenship and Patriots Awards

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has announced plans to bestow Citizenship and Patriots Awards on eleven Nigerians as part of the upcoming 63rd Independence Day celebrations.

POLITICS NIGERIA reports that this award ceremony, organised by the National Orientation Agency (NOA), is part of the government’s commitment to fostering civic education throughout the country.

Dr. Garba Abari, the Director General of the NOA, unveiled this initiative during a media briefing. The award ceremony is scheduled to take place on Thursday, October 5, to celebrate these remarkable individuals’ contributions to the nation.

The awardees include:

1. The late Pa Taiwo Micheal Akinkunmi, renowned as the designer of Nigeria’s flag.
2. Salaudeen Akano, a Naval Rating who, in a historic moment, raised the Nigerian flag at midnight to mark the country’s independence in 1960.
3. The late Commander Onwurah Zonyanuno Chiazor, the commandant who issued the order for Naval Rating Salaudeen to hoist the flag.
4. John A. Ilechukwu.
5. Eme Etim Akpan.
6. B.A. Ogunnaike.
7. Sota Omoigui.
8. P. O. Aderibigbe, all of whom contributed to the lyrics of Nigeria’s National Anthem.
9. The late Benedict E. Odiase, who directed the Nigerian Police Band.
10. The late (Mrs.) Felicia Adebola Adedoyin, the visionary behind the creation of the National Pledge.
11. Adewusi, a friend of Adedoyin’s who introduced her to the President.

Dr. Abari went on to announce the institution of two significant annual observances: National Symbols Day, to be celebrated on the 16th of September, and Citizens and Patriots Day, observed on September 30. National Symbols Day commemorates the signing of Nigeria’s Coat-of-Arms and National Ordinance into law in 1960.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button