Top Kano Politicians Abandon APC, Move to NNPP

The chairmen of three Kano local governments, including numerous councillors and women leaders, have abandoned the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) for the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

The defectors include Ado Tambai of Dawakin Tofa, Mudassir Aliyu of Garun Malam, and Lawan Aramposu of Nasarawa – the home local government of APC National Chairman Abdullahi Ganduje.

“This gathering has displayed what Aramposu describes as the new model of politics. I am overwhelmed to receive these leading politicians with their supporters into our great party,” governor Abba Kabir Yusuf, who welcomed the defectors at a ceremony held at the Government House on Saturday, said.

He praised their decision to join the “new model of politics” focused on public service rather than “looting public funds” and “engaging youths in drug abuse.”

He added: “These politicians have the spirit to assist and help the people of their local government. But unfortunately, they found themselves under a party with greedy leaders who are only interested in building their personal whims and caprices.

“The tenure of the LG chairmen is ending on Monday. We are using this opportunity to welcome you into this party. We thank you for bringing along youths and women to our party, thereby enhancing our grassroots presence. From now on, we are brothers and sisters.

“We are going to join hands with you to ensure we deliver to our people,” the Governor stated.

Hashimu Dungurawa, NNPP state chairman, attributed the defections to Governor Yusuf’s “exemplary leadership qualities,” adding that his party offers a more attractive alternative to the APC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button