Tribunal judgements on ALL presidential elections since 1999 [LIST]

Nigerians will on Wednesday, September 6, know the verdict of Presidential Elections Petitions Tribunal on the keenly contested 2023 poll.

The presidential election saw Bola Tinubu (APC) emerge winner with Peter Obi (Labour Party) and Atiku Abubakar (PDP) in the second and third positions, respectively.

The duo of Obi and Atiku dragged Tinubu and the APC to court to contest the outcome of the presidential election.

While this has garnered more interest from Nigerians and the international community, it is not the first time the outcome of a presidential election is being contested.

Politics Nigeria has compiled a list of the outcomes of all presidential elections since Nigeria’s return to democracy in 1999.

  1. In 1999, Chief Olu Falae of the Action for Democracy (AD) lost his petition against former president Olusegun Obasanjo’s victory at the poll.
  2. In 2003, former military dictator, Muhammadu Buhari, contested against Obasanjo on the platform of the All Nigerian Peoples Party (ANPP) and lost. He also lost at the court.
  3. Again, Buhari contested against Late Musa Yar’Adua for the position of Nigeria’s president in 2007 and lost. He lost in court as well.
  4. Relentless in his quest to become president, Buhari took another chance in 2011 but this time, on the platform of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC). He was floored by former president Goodluck Jonathan of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). Jonathan also won in court.
  5. There was no petition against Buhari’s victory in 2015.
  6. PDP’s Atiku Abubakar sought to upturn Buhari’s victory after the 2019 presidential election but lost.

Will the tribunal upturn Tinubu’s victory at the 2023 presidential election? Events of the next 24 hours will tell.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button